making liquidised bread and fishing with bread on a canal

Keith Hampson

Reaction score
Hi I am going fishing this weekend on my local canal and want to fish bread punch, its full of roach, chub, bream, perch and small tench, I would like to know how to make liquidised bread, do I cut the crust off and bang it in a blender or leave crust on? How do I feed it to, do I use it like groundbait and feed large balls of it in or little and often? What size hooklength and hook do I use? What size punch do I need? Iv3 never fished with bread so I am unsure how to prepare and fish with it, how do I store it? Or am I just as well buying bread crumb groundbait and using that? I intend on fishing with the pole, I also have so hemp seed to but can it be used effectively with bread? I will be taking maggots to. Do I fish on the bottom with bread? Will any loaf do? And will 1 loaf be enough for an 8 hour session?
Sorry about all the questions but I've not been fishing long and I am a total novice when it comes to fishing with bread.

Regards Keith

Last edited:

steph mckenzie

Reaction score
I just break slices of bread in to smaller pieces and them shove them in the blender and blend it until it becomes very fine Crumb (i know others who prefer to cut the Crust off) personally i don't bother. I then feed it as Little and Often and when i say little i mean a Thumb Nail size piece, bread can quickly over feed the smaller fish and it's bites your after. if you are using the Pole i was use a small kinder pot or similar pot to feed depending on how many bites i was getting. Start with no feed and if you get bites put some feed in.