Help with beach tackle please - for Spain

silkweed

Reaction score
Guys, I have decades of freshwater angling experience but not a lot when it comes to sea fishing. Years of match fishing (pre Carp yuck), specimen hunting for Chub and Barbel then onto split cane stuff. I have been out on the odd boat trip but never done any beach casting.
Im after a lot of advice about beach fishing, both tackle and skills.
Im going back to Spain in September and would love to do some beach fishing. I would love to have some sort of guidance for beach casting rods and would rather use a muliplier (although I get the feeling they are old fashioned?).
What length rod, which multiplier, terminal tackle etc please? I know it's a can of worms but I have no experience since my fibreglass boat rod days!

Oh and I will be fishing in the Nerja, Torrox region of southern Spain. I know there are a couple of tackle shops down there but the rods looked very basic and expensive so thinking of taking one out there in a tube to leave at my friends villa.

1. Rods, (not travel ones, normal two or three piece - which makes etc
2. multipliers, again which ones
3. line, braid or mono, which breaking strains
4. leads, hooks etc

Please.....

Thanks

Paul

john step

Reaction score
I have only ever done the holiday type fishing in the Med. Not much tide although there is a little that far down. I dont think you need too beefy gear. Only enough to cast the distance you want. Whether there is anything left in the water is another matter.
The mullet fishing off boat moorings can be fun on lighter gear.

silkweed

Reaction score
There are not any boat mooring as far as I know.
Its all beach fishing, yes I have used a **** rod from a beach but it's just not enough to get out into deeper water.
I have seen Spanish anglers but not seen what they have caught although its meant to be good fishing.

Banned
Banned
Reaction score