The Duffer's Fortnight...does it still exist?

Tee-Cee

Reaction score
First of all let me say that I have little knowledge of trout/fly fishing..in fact apart from time spent after big chub with a'bushy fly of sorts' AND a day on the Test fishing the Lord Mountbatten stretch which my wife treated me to as a birthday present(and possibly to bring home something for the table to justify costly course fishing!)I have never taken to the'other way'of fishing...

This morning,as a way of enjoying sunrise(and plenty of good tea!)and beyond I read a few chapters of Sheringham including one entitled'The Duffers Fortnight'.Excellent reading as only he can produce and it got me wondering about this period in early June(?)when trout can be caught at will and,I understand,of massive size!This account by Sheringham was written in 1916 or so and trout men may no longer follow the mayfly for this two week period.....or perhaps they do?

So,for curiosities sake,can anyone tell me if trout men head(with average funds available) for the rivers(Test/Itchen) these days,at this time of year,to become fed-up with mere 3 pounders(similar to boredom with catching 8lb tench come the 16th!)or is it a sport only for the rich or landed gentry??

Do 8/10lb trout fall regularly to mayfly on the Kennet for this two week period....hardly seem likely as Sheringham seemed to fail more often than not.....but .............

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
Ah! the dreams and aspirations of the angler, forever the optomist, is it something to do with the spring, the re-awakening, the thought of those few days remaining when proper fishing can once more be pleasured?

One thing puzzles me about that 'duffers fortnight' why would very large fish that have never shown before suddenly decide it is time to be caught?

Paul Boote

Banned
Banned
Reaction score