Muddy waters

Yan

Reaction score
I had a walk round my local fishery (Larton, Wirral) with a view to fishing it later this week. The water was like pea soup. Can anybody explain me how very cloudy water affects the fishing? The ponds are supposed to contain ?mixed species?, any of which I would be happy to fish for. Is there any point going? I have little experience of these conditions (or any other for that matter!).

P

Phil Hackett 2

Don?t know the waters you refer to, but at this time of year as the water starts to cool down from the summer warmth, the algae in it start to die off and float to the surface, giving the green appearance you talk about.

Some anglers avoid these conditions like the plague others myself included would fish it.

I can see why some avoid very small waters, as decaying matter can decrease the oxygen levels to a point where fish do not feel like feeding. Low oxygen levels can make fish feel a bit sickly and lethargic.
That said a good blow with a bit of rain soon puts pay to such fish feelings.

If its very local there?s no harm in spending a couple of hours late afternoon until dark trying it out.

Also remember that you probably have up until the first frosts for making reasonable catches from these ponds and then your fishing for bites rather than numbers of fish.

All stillwaters come winter cool down greatly and fishing becomes harder because fish are cold-blooded creature. Cold-blooded creatures move about less as the water becomes colder and therefore need far less food, resulting in less fish to catch.

Rivers are slightly different, as fish have to expend energy fighting the flow, therefore need more food to replace the lost energy. This makes them feed more, so more fish active, more fish to catch.

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
Yan, Good stuff from Phil, but do you mean pea soup as in the colour was literally pea green or just that the water wasn't clear?