Help...I'm a newbie

Ian Mundey

Reaction score
I have just started to fish on the advise of my Mother-in-laws Husband and I am loving it...my 7 year old son and I have been to 3 fisheries now and are having great fun. but my question is this...what is the minimum kit i need? I have a little 6m graphite pole but what else do I need as I hate to borrow from my in laws all the time...I am also interested in trying float fishing as well as pole fishing...hope you experts out there can help

Bryan Baron 2

Reaction score
Improve your coarse fishing mag as a review of some kits. Theses might be worth a look.

I also believe Matt Hayes TFG are doing some srarter kits.

T

The Monk

you`ll also need a few batteries of carp rods, long range, margin , French pits etc. loads of reels, a selection of bivvies, bedchairs, rod pods, fish finders, bait boat, carp sacks, weighing slings, unhooking mat, scales, decent set of photgraphic equipment, laptop, bivvy telli and dvd player, power packs and rechargers, a decent van

then theres the bait of course?

god I`d hate to be starting all over again

errrr good luck mate

Ian Mundey

Reaction score
Thanks for your suggestions Monk....now all I need to do is win the lottery or dump the missus for a rich heiress somewhere....anybody got any suggestions on who is rich and single at present...

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
Ian, minimum requirement for a days float fishing?

A Shakespeare 13 ft match rod. ?40
An Okuma Match reel ?30
Spool of 4lb Maxima ?3, a spool of Shakespeare hook length ?2.
3 or 4 wagglers, Anchor shot in dispenser, a packet of No,18 maggot hooks, a hook tyer and a disgorger. ?12
A landing net handle and net ?12
1 pint of maggots ?2.

All that for ?100, its not a lot when you say it quick is it? The initial outlay is always the most obviously, then its just a case of replacing or improving, remember fish don't know how much your gear cost.

Ian Mundey

Reaction score