just whipped a size 22 on to 1.1lb line

S

si

i was hopeing to try some roach fishing soon on a local marine with bloodworm and joker i have never used it before let alone used a size 22 hook !!

can anyone help with what type of float to use and what size elastic with such a small hook

ime not looking to beat any records hear its just something thats been at the back of my mind to try so any info relateing to using this method will be greatfullly recieved

Clikfire

Reaction score
Not good enough to offer advise about your chosen quarry, but if you really want to go for it I have some size 28 spades from when I used to fish canals, I can send them to you.

R

Ron Troversial Clay

After Trent Barbel are you?

You're pluddi gaffing 'em....... :eek:)

S

si

wow size 28 i dint know they went that small i carnt even imagine how small that must be

it was to my utter amazement that i tied it first attempt but ime well chuffed the wipping stayed on long long enough to pull it tight

Clikfire

Reaction score
Si, I don't think they are any tougher to tie than 22's as the actual wire the hooks made from doesn't get much thinner its just the bend at the pointy end that's tiny.

S

si

ahh ok i will keep practiseing with 22s and work my way down

out of interest clikfire how small do hooks go

ron yes i will be after trent barbel after seeing bob roberts at the trent club but they can wait i want some trent roach first

Clikfire

Reaction score
Si I have never seen smaller than 28's but I am not suggesting they don't exist.
As I said I am not that good or experienced at fishing anyhow, but I used to use them with pinkies on canal matches as a junior.

Clikfire

Reaction score
Just found a site quoting size 32 !! Suitable for baiting with a single gnat to catch the odd specimen minnow I would think.

R

Ron Troversial Clay

What, a whole gnat?

In my day on the canals we used sized 46s to 1 1/2 oz. bs. A single joker was cut onto 30 pieces.

Using tow rope you lot.