KEEPING FAITH...

Jeff

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been fishing for many years but for the last year concentrated only on Carp...

I admit that I very much enjoyed my fishing taking 3 personal bests in a row up to my best of 16lb...

Coming to the end of the year I find it hard to find the same enthusiasm to get out next year as I had back in March... The thing is that Carp fishing is just fishing for Carp (I know, spare me the funnies!) and I admit that after my first season I find myself thinking of other species once again. I wonder how you seasoned Carp boys keep going after just the one species as you do?

I would like to obviously catch bigger Carp but find myself needing a refreshing change and really am not that inspired to go after Carp again for quite some time...

What's your thought?

Jeff

S

sash

Exactly the same as you Jeff. I find it difficult to maintain an interest in one species for a whole season, once a target has been achieved or interest begins to lessen I switch species. Hence having fished for specimen carp, bream, tench, eels, rudd, perch, barbel, zander, catfish and pike already this season. No doubt, chub will get a look in over the winter too!

I find targetting a new venue can be just as important as changing species with regard maintaining an interest e.g. river carp instead of gravel pit

M

MaNick

I would say.....

Why stick to one species?...

I fish for carp more than anything else, but often i will think... " ok, i'll go for tench on the float today..."... and thats what i do!...

Variety is the spice of life after all!

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
No matter what species you may want to target, try and have three different venue's to go to.
when I was roach fishing some years back, I would try new places, or places where, I thought the bigger fish would be.