Piking for the Complete Novice - Advice Please

Francophil

Reaction score
Have just taken a winter permit on a RMC. Angling water in Essex. It's a small lake of about 2 acres and very weeded in the summer. The average depth is about 4 or 5 foot and although the weed has now gone from the surface, there is still a lot of weed 'stalk' about 2 foot below the surface.

Fished it at the weekend and there is an abundance of small rudd which are frequently disturbed by pike of about 5 pounds or so. Until the weed dies away a bit more, fishing other than for pike seems pretty hopeless.

I've never fished for pike so would be appreciative of some advice on tackle,rigs, lures and or baits aimed at a complete novice and bearing in mind the condition of the lake described above and the size of the pike that seem to be present (the lake baliff advised me that all of the larger pike were netted a while back and transported to another RMC. Angline water). I have already bought some decent 'unhooking' stuff as a starter.

Jeff

Reaction score
What I would recommend buddy is to think safety first... I don't just mean yours but that of the pike.

Without being rude I must say that too many anglers decide to have a crack at the old pike without being prepared... What I mean is, as recommended by Phil, read up all you can about pike. They may seem tough and indestructable but they are one of the most fragile of fish...

So, with all respect mate, before you think about tactics please bare this in mind: As you would for Carp, you need to ensure you've got the right kit to carefully look after a pike when it's on the bank. Make sure you've got these bits before you leave home:

Large landing
2 pairs of long arm forceps
An unhooking mat