making your own baits?

S

swordsy

Being a chef I come across lots of ingredients which are suitable for bait making plus I also gain a lot of pleasure from catching fish on homemade baits rather than relying on the current shop favourites.

Do you enjoy the preperation of your own bait or do you feel that time in the kitchen is wasted and would have been better spent on the bank?

N

Nigel Connor(ACA ,SAA)

Difficult one Swordsy.

I have never been one for massively complicted baits just well prepared simple ones to suit the prevailing conditons, which I then try to present as well as possible.

Howver complicated a bait, if it is not well presented in the right circumstances you will struggle on most occasions.

woody

Very Elderly Member
Banned
Reaction score
Being a chef, consider well the benefits of adding Nam Pla, balsamic vinegar, and soy sauce. Not necessarily all in one bait, of course.

It's not too different from preparing a nice meal for someone to have them say it was the best ******** they've ever tasted. If the fish go mad for something you've created it gives you an extra buzz.

Keep to basic threads - sweet, sour, salt, or spicy. I honestly don't believe fish can detect the delicate difference between toffee syrup and maple syrup, so long as it's got a good nutritious base.

F

Frothey

they can, but whether they give a toss is another thing!

N

NottmDon