Just starting out

Richard Palmer

Reaction score
Hi, i'm just starting out in the fishing world, would like some advice please.

I have just brought a match rod/reel and a carp rod/reel ( gonna start with the match fish then move onto carp when confident).

Where's the best place to start to learn, for a newbie it's a bit daunting what with rigs, ledgers, hook to nylon, feeders, all the different knots ect ect....(although this site is helping).

Anyone from S.E. London and best place to fish for a beginner?

Was thinking of joing local club (run buy local tackle shop), but sounds a bit advanced to me.

All help appreciated.

Thanks.

P.s been fishing about 10+ years ago at Danson Park and Orton Kerby i think it was (vague memories), also at a caravan park in Hastings.

J

jason fisher

first things first get a hooktyer and learn to use it they cost about 3 quid and will save you a fortune in the long run. plus you will be using the hook you want to use tied to the hooklink material that you want to use.

hook wise drennan and kamasan take a lot of beating, for hook lengths get fluorocarbon.

the drennan polemaster stuff is pretty good but only goes up to about 3lb.

L

Laurie Harper

Ah, memories. I started fishing in Danson Park and did so through my teens (1960s). Had nice roach to around 1.75 lb. and carp to low double figures. The place was pretty hard hit during the sewage workers strike - lots of fish killed. I moved away from the area in the early 1970s. Is it still worth a visit? Would like to fish there again for old time's sake. Don't be put off by the "advanced" nature of the club you mention. Go to a few meetings and check it out - if they're a friendly lot, you can learn a lot very from them. Most club members are only too pleased to help a learner. Good luck.

N

NottmDon