books books books

S

swordsy

I have been collecting signed books and first editions for about six months now and my collection is coming along very well, I have books by Bob Church,Chris Turnbull,Barrie Rickards,John Wilson,Phil Smith and many more what would be the best way to get them signed? I know some of the authors frequent this site so not wanting to sound like a sick-elephant what would be the best way to get their names in my books?

I was planning on taking ruckie full to the "go fishing" show but would that have been too sad?

S

swordsy

Lee you sad little man go to bed and no more looking on ebay this week!

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay

I possess a lot of signed books.

I have been lucky in that for most cases I have known the authors personally.

B

Bob Hornegold

So have I Ron, but the Bu**ers want sign them ?

On a serious note, do they need to be signed,I collect books to Read.

Is this thread about collecting Angling for the sake of them or collecting Books (signed) to make money in the future ?

I honestly cant believe some of the prices now-- John Sidley-- Soft Back -Successful Eel Fishing is making up to ?100.00 in good condition.

Has the world gone Mad ?????

S

swordsy

Now Ron, have you got a will sorted out?

:O)

NO seriously if ever you want to sell any that have not got a ?1k price tag let me know!

S

swordsy

I personally am not in it for the money aspect although I have double puchased a couple of books to resell one later to fund the buying of more books, I have always loved books and reading. If I was lucky enough to win the lottery I would have a proper full room library with huge leather chairs, That would be bliss!

Your point on the prices of some books is quite true, some of the books I have bid ?50 for have gone for double that amount and more!

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay

If the book is signed by the author it will double it's value easily.

Sometimes quadruple the value if the author has died.