New Setup

Kev Truman

Reaction score
Hi guys, i have already posted on here once tonight, but thought this would be a better place on the forum for this particular question.

I am going fishing tomorrow for the first time in 9-10 years (or more). I cant remember a single thing about the sport, and the technologies of it have advanced a lot.

I have realised that all the old rods and tackle i have are no use to me. (these ranging from very long ledgers to fly fishing rods - mostly older than me (im 23) which will just have to do for tomorrow).

I would just like to see some of your ideas on a decent starting setup. Most of my fishing will be done at http://www.fisheries.co.uk/blakehall/ or other local venues.

Any ideas? (sorry for my lack of knowledge, its been a long time)

Kev Truman

Reaction score
oh a little addition. My funds are limited as i am a student at the moment. :S

E

EC

Kev, you are in a similar position to my mate who took the sport back up recently.

My advice is use a float rod if you have one, set up a basic waggler system (no disrespect intended but if you don't know what I am on about ask). You would catch more on the pole, but waggler fishing is probably more comfortable when you are getting back into the sport!

Depending on the size of the fish in the lake, use a 3,4 or 5LB mainline and lighter hooklengths, to hooks from 18-12, this will get you a few bites which for your first time back is the point of the exercise!

Looking at the website you must use their own brand of pellets, so get some of these in the smallest size, and take some maggots corn and worms, you'll have a good day mate!

You could ring the fishery and get it from the horses mouth what tackle/baits to use, but dont think you need to go on a spending spree in order to catch!

Richard Farrow

Reaction score
Kev please ask if you need more help. Half decent tackle can be purchased very reasonably these days.

Kev Truman

Reaction score