tie hooks

Mark Williams 8

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a beginner to fishing, but a friend gave me a hook tyer, but no instructions to go with it, could anyone help with how to use it.

If this help as to which one, its black, with a screwed wheel on the top under a shaped pieace of metal that goes through it to form two hook parts the other side.

Thanks alot if you can.

Mark

J

jason fisher

i could show you, but writing it down would just be plain silly and completely unintelligible, the thing to do is go back to the mate who gave it to you and ask him to demonstrate. to be honest if you had the original instructions you would be none the wiser.

J

jason fisher

not bad description apart from it being wrong, i've always found it best to start with the line down the other side of the pillars. this way the line comes off at the front of the spade instead of from behind it.

W

Wolfman Woody

Depends which way you put the hook in Jason.

In fact the device was invented in the early 70s by a chap from Denton nr Manchester. He used to produce a few per week in aluminium and I had my name down for one. Before I got it he'd sold it to a company called "Rosewood" (this chap's wife worked with us in our sales office) and they made them in grey plastic so I bought one from them.

And I still have it!!!

J

jason fisher

i was refering to it from the way it look like the hook is in that one jeff, it looks backwards to me, with the line down the back of the shank.

Joskin

Reaction score
I perchased one once and after an hour or so I figured out how to use it. Then when I got it out to tie a hook on the bank I couldnt remember how to use it. I chucked the thing in the bin in the end as I found it much quicker and easyer to tie the hooks by hand anyway.

Mark Williams 8

Reaction score
Thankyou all for your kind replies i'll go and have a play see what i can do.

Thanks again it great to have people who don't mind having to answer at times very dumb questions from novices.