Catching bigger fish

Andyw

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been persevering with angling for a couple of months now... Even ventured out through the night the other night... I must say totally unprepared!! No night fishing equipment, tiny wee torch... Catch was at a minimum as a result...

Anyway, I have slowly found my catch size in general has increased, not by much, my "pb" as it were is now a bream to give or take 2lb (and thats on the generous side!!).

My question is.. How do I increase in the size of fish I catch? I'm sticking at fishing various points within walking distance along the Grand Union Canal in Milton Keynes. I know there are larger fish of various species in there, unless every angler I talk to along there is b*llsh*tting me!! ;-)

I have been using 4lb line, 2lb hook lengths to a size 14,12,10 hook. Usually on a couple of bits of corn. Or maybe meat, although the corn has been the best.

I'm putting out groundbait mixed with crumb, some 4mm expander pellets seem to help as loosefeed. I'm enjoying myself immensely, even on the odd occasion I blank. Since my trouble with the troublesome "tiny" perch that keep on swallowing my hook I have stayed away from maggot completely.

Any and all advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Andy

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Andy.
when I fish the canal for bream, I used to use sweetcorn on a 16 hook, 2lb mainline and a hooklink of 1.7lb. This caught me loads of bream around the 2lb mark.
Then I stepped up to 4lb line, with a single piece of French Maize on a size 12 hook. And fed micro pellets. Every bream afte rthat wa sof the bigger kind. some were over 4lb. Which was good for my stretch of canal.
French Maize deffinately attracts the bigger fish.

Andyw

Reaction score
It's that kind of knowledge you only develop with time and experience... or by hassling people on here to tell you!!