Oiling 'pins

mol

Reaction score
I took advantage of the cheap pins from Dragon carp and ordered one, I've never used them before. I was advised to strip them down and give them a quick oil before I use them for the first time, I was told this would help them spin. I was told sewing machine oil or 3 in 1 was a good oil to use. I could only get what was called 'fine' oil, the fella in the shop said it was used on sewing machines. I was getting about a minute spin I'm now down to 30 seconds, is this normal? Does the oil need time to work? If the oil I've used is the wrong stuff then how do I go about cleaning it off the bearings?

stikflote

Reaction score
Well it realy makes no difference how long it spins,as long as float pulls line off with flow of river.
Your oil may be to thick, so just wipe it off you only want a smear on spindle, and put check on when threading line thru rings, other wise reel will spin and you will have a great birds nest

Sean Meeghan

Reaction score
On a ball bearing pin like the one you've got a slight increase in the viscosity of the oil shouldn't make too much difference to the length of time it rotates. The first thing I'd check is that the reel has gone back together properly. Have a quick look to see if the drum is square on the spindle and that there's no wobble. There should be a bit of play along the spindle, if not then you've either put it back together wrong or you've over tightened the retaining screw. If that looks OK back off the tension on the drum retaining screw (I think it's a screw) very slightly and see if that makes a difference. If this does make a difference then the you're going to have to be careful how you tighten this screw as too tight and it will restrict the rotation and too loose and it will work itself undone.

As Stikfloat says, it's worth trying out the reel and if it feeds line OK when trotting don't worry about it. It will probably free up a bit with use anyway.