Fixed spool or centre pin?

Jub Hurren

Reaction score
Hi ive just started fishing rivers and i have seen some anglers with centre pin reels. i have ben using a fixed spool and i was wondering what the differene was? do i have the wrong reel? thanks jub

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
there is no right or wrong one it's what you prefer both have thier advantages i fish with a fixed spool while my fishing companion fishes with a centre pin.
keep meaning to have a go with a centre pin myself will get round to it someday.
both of us do quite well on the barbel/chub.

Jub Hurren

Reaction score
Thanks karl. The centre pin looks like good fun. does any1 know the advantages?

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
well the obvious ones for a centrepin is it's good if you are trotting a float or trundleing bait through your swim.

a fixed spool has better facility for line lay on your spools.

these are what i can think of as i am relatively new to the sport.

my friend who is a great enthusiast of purist fishing and has fished for many many years hopefully when he gets time will email details to me and i will post it on this topic so keep an eye out.

regards from the river dove.

carl hodgkinson

Reaction score
as promised a writeup from my fishing buddy on centre pins
regards carl.