Best tackle to start off with?

Mr Bones

Reaction score
Hi All.

I?m new here and am returning to fishing after a 34 year break. Needless to say that I have no idea what?s available now nor can I remember most of what I learnt. I therefore feel like a complete beginner.

I want to purchase a rod and reel but due to a limited budget (my Wife says I have too many hobbies!!), I want to ensure that what I get will cover my needs. I?m not to sure what kind of fishing I will end up doing or what fish I shall go for. I think to start with it will be a bit of float and ledger and see how things progress.

I would really appreciate your advice on a good all round and adaptable rod and reel. I was thinking for the rod of getting a ?John Wilson signature avon quiver system? and for the reel a ?Wychwood Rogue Freespin?.

This was based on reviews and price. Good move, stupid move?
Advice greatly appreciated, many thanks in advance.

Mr Bones..

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
The Wilson Signature Avon will give you the best of both worlds ie Float/leger.
I don't know anything about the reel though, I stick with Shimano. I use the 5000 on my Wilson rod, and the balance is good. Fishing mainly for chub, but good enough for barbel.

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
Welcome aboard Mr Bones,

The Wilson is a superb rod, very adaptable and enjoyable to use. I have caught small Crucians, Dace and Perch without feeling overgunned yet it has the power to deal with Trent Barbel and Chub too.

I have never tried the wychwood reels. I use a Shimano with my Wilson, Sahara 3000. It is beautifully balanced and is a good float or light ledgering reel, the 'fightin' drag' system on the clutch works a treat and enables swift clutch adjustment in tricky situations.

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score