Poor English

fred hall

Reaction score
I for one think it does (but as an old hat teacher, I would say that, wouldn't I?).
To back up my case, take a look at the front page of Angling Times 25/10/05. I quote
HOW TO STALK SPOOKY FISH LIKE MATT HAYES
Now I think that Matt is a decent angler, and also a 24 carat poser, but to label him a fish and a spooky one at that seems a bit harsh.

G

Ged

Now I agree with that headline.
Matt hayes is a spooky fish and I would not go stalking him. (I'm not a fan of his)

W

Wolfman Woody

Whilst I would agree that a language must evolve, it doesn't mean that that is an excuse to go corrupting it by being lazy.

I refer to jargon such as "...he would of if he had one." It's "....he would have..." Laziness like this is inexcusable.

On the other hand the introduction of new words like "splonge" is quite acceptable. I haven't yet established a definition of this word so I am just holding it in reserve. Never know when you might need it.

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
Perhaps it's a lunge with something unexpectedly soft, like a close-mesh landing-net on a cheap frame - "desperately splonging at a lively carp"?
Or maybe that's "splunge". It certainly doesn't boost one's image!

M

mark williams 4

Language evolves, but ity should evolve from creativity, niot laziness. Messing around with grammar to achieve effect is fine, and I love new words (splonge, by the way, describes the sound made when you leap onto a bed covered in custard...as you do).
"You know what we mean" is the usual excuse. Well, would we have known what you meant if you'd written it the RIGHT way, and if the answer's yes, do it the right way!
I have many language hang-ups - 'five minutes time' for example. Five minutes of what else could it be? It's just five minutes, for Christ's sake!
Then there's stuff like "He only fishes on Wednesdays" implying that he doesn't do anything else but fish, when it should be "He fishes only on Wednesdays."

GrahamM

Managing Editor