Venues in Kent

B

Blank Day Bob

Hello guys
I'm new to this forum and to fly fishing, but I can see there's a whole lot of people here who really know their stuff and I'm looking for advise.
Can anyone recommend a good venue in Kent where I can fish and make mistakes without embarrasing myself.
I'm aware that I'm not very good at casting but am persevering and have had a lesson and watched all the DVD's!
So its a quiet venue, sympathetic baliff and preferably fish!
Cheers
Bob

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA-Life Member)

I don't live anywhere near Kent but the one that comes to mind is Tenterden in the Weald.

Prices are not bad for the South of England either. They have a website which you can find on Google.

B

Blank Day Bob

Thanks Ron
I have been to Tenterden a couple of times and its a very picturesque fishery.
In both my visits however I have never seen anyone land a fish there.
This will no doubt promt a host of messages from people who have had great results there and that I went on the wrong days.
I used to get that all the time from the skippers when I went sea angling - "You should have been here yesterday, they were jumping in the boat"
Tenterden is run by nice people and average price @ ?25 day.
I can understand why I do not catch fish, what with my failling casts and tossing great sods of grass into the lake. Any sensible fish would swim as far away as possible from me! But I would be more heartened if I saw the guys who were doing it properly catching.
I'm going out today to try a fishery near Tonbridge, Chalysomething Spring. I'll keep practicing, I just enjoy the whole thing so much.
Regards
Bob

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA-Life Member)

It is very rare on a water like Tenterden that you can't get a few fish, even on a hard day.

Winter tactics can be a little different from spring or summer, but you can catch if you use the right pattern and mast important - fish it at the right depth.