Rig suggestion's

Simon Beehre

Reaction score
Im totally new to carp fishing and in the Waikato River close to where i live there is a mammoth population of koi carp. Currently im using a float with a sliding d rig and home made boillies. The problem i have is most of the spots have a weed bank close to the shore and the river is fairly fast flowing.... i was wondering what the best type of rig to use would be as i dont think the float is the best way to go.

T

Terry D

I'd probably try a heavy strt-pegging rig if I could reach over the weed. Failing that, keep your floats at home and try legering.

B

Big Rik

Get rid of the float and keep the rod tips up in the air.

Bryan Baron 2

Reaction score
Simon. Agree with Rik keep rods up. With regards to rig i would fish either a Bolt or Run rig incorperating some form of lead release due to the weed.

Just had a look on net for whats in the river over 25 different species 10 introduced how many of the natives can be fished for also.

Waikato River

Simon Beehre

Reaction score
Thanks guys! I gave legering a go last night fishing off a warf on the river. I also used some fish pellets in an old milk container with holes punched in it. The fish were certainly attracted to it but none were taking the bait. The setup i had was a small sliding sinker which sat ontop of a swivel and the a trace with a knotless knot and hair rig... i was using baby corn for bait. It was annoying cause i could see the big carp but nothing was happening on my line :( Also i was wondering if i need to order some proper bait (boilies) off the net and maybe a few bits an pieces. Anyone know of an online shop which would ship to nz and or some suggestions on what bits to buy?

?

<?))))><.???`?. born to fish (callum) made to wor

big carp will go for worms. worm is a great bait it's natural and I've had carp to 17lbs on it.