deadbaiting

david nye

Reaction score
im new to deadbaiting and have been looking at hooking the fish to the two trebles. when im casting i sometimes lose the bait can i use a bit elastic thread or will it put the pike off the bait....dave

gilesy

Reaction score
hi dave,you mention sardines,well the best way to hook them is still frozen as they stay on the hooks much better than thawed,i dont have any problems with mackeral in fact they can be too tough at times.nige williams in todays times mentions the new pva solu,ties,which seem a good idea with soft baits

A

Andrew Macfarlane

Clear bait elastic from the sea fishing Dept. will tether the trace/treble to the tailroot and the pike won't care.

K

Keith Orange

Mackerel is a tough fish and they keep on the hooks fairly well.

As for sardines, they are a bit tricky. It helps if you bring them to the bank frozen.

The top hook (nearest the swivel and float or leger rig) in the trace should be inserted in the wrist of the tail about a quarter inch from the start of the fin. The skin and flesh is tough at this point. The bottom hook (the end hook on the trace) is lightly hooked in the side of the fish.

Wrapping elastic thread around the top hook and the wrist of the tail helps to keep the fish on the hook. I used to use elastic, but with more experience I no longer need it.

You can't cast vigorously with sardines. A gentle lob is better.

Reaction score
I favour sardines over mackerel as a bait anyway (IMHO pike like them more)Also I want the hooks to leave the bait as soon as i strike and this can occassionally be an issue with tough fish like mackerel (esp the tail root).

I take my sardines frozen, one hook in the tail root and the other into the back of the dorsal, no problems with short to medium casts on most rivers.

ADY

Reaction score
If all else fails you could buy a pkt of bait clips, i think fox make them?.

J

jason fisher