Canoeing and Fishing

Andrew Greensmith 2

Reaction score
Brillient. I've been paddling and fishing for about 15 years and love both sports. I have always hated the way that each group considers the views of the other group.

As you've said, there's only around 2% of rivers that canoeists can lawfully use and much of this is only usable in winter. Whilst paddling many of the rivers in North Wales and the lakes i've never seen a single angler in the winter, yet there are countless debates and arguments over access to those rivers, i've always thought that there must be a few people like myself that can see both sides clearly as we have to deal with both situations.

Surely if both parties fully understood the situation then they could sort something out.

fishy pete

Reaction score
nice article Mike exactly the point i was trying to get across,but as you rightly stated ''idiot minoritys''on both sides make it hard for ''normal'' fishermen/paddlers to get along .a little bit of respect is all that is needed.(from both sides might i add)

p.s. not be long till they start hijacking this thread to mate!

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Mike,
An interesting starting point that both factions should take to heart.

Access issues apart, I would like to see far greater mutual respect between both anglers and paddlers.

Alan Shelley

Reaction score
I completely agree. I'm a kayak instructor and a keen river fisherman, I've always maintained that angler & kayak should share the waterways.
Politeness costs nothing and can make a day for both.

P

Paul Root

I don't see what the issue is. My local river on the Essex/Suffolk border, the River Stour, I see Canoeists on a regular basis, and they always say a big "hello".

Steve Barrie

Reaction score