Mink wearing a collar?

John Frankland

Reaction score
Hullo
I was chubbing on the upper Thames on Saturday. As I stood motionless a mink wearing a collar walked to within two metres of me, looked at me, sniffed the air then walked away again. It's not the first time I have seen one on the river but I am curious about the collar. Are farmed mink fitted with collars? Is anybody aware of any radio-tracking research using mink?

John Frankland

Reaction score
Yeah could be. I'm no expert and these creatures are all very similar. The nagging thing is that I'm no duffer either; I do know quite a bit about these animals and I did get a good close look. That's why I'm curious and keen to know what others can tell me. The main things that are nagging are that what I saw had a very blunt snout and no white fur anywhere on its face, ears or body. As I said, I'm no expert and if this description could be a ferret then that's probably what it was. It certainly explains the collar and relative friendliness of the creature.

J

jason fisher

maybe on of the otters had put it on a mink to confuse the people following it.

Tony Hyland 2

Reaction score
i think it was a ferret,i used to hunt rabbets,and had 4 ferrets.you put a coller with asmall blep,so you can track them under ground.we used a detecter to know were they were,some times they would find a spy hole and out they come and go walkers,hope that helps

W

Wolfman Woody

I saw a black squirrel up a tree the other day and that had a collar around its neck.

John Frankland

Reaction score
Thanks Tony. I think it must have been a ferret; there was a small white lump attached to the collar. I was in the middle of nowhere and hadn't seen a soul all day but I do remember hearing a dog barking nearby when I saw the creature and this may have been with rabbiters.

coelacanth

Reaction score