A PROBEM REACHING THE PIKE

D

Denis Goulding

Hi All.
I am new to this particular forum so i don't know any of u guy's and girl's,i am from Ireland and have been trolling dead bait's..( as livebaiting is not allowed)....spoon's plug's and spinner's for some year's now but have yet to contact a 20lber although i have done so deadbaiting from the shore,i recently got hold of a fish finder and spent the last 3 day's trolling with it for pike on a local resevoir..Blessington Lakes the third biggest manmade resevoir in Europe,u could put Rutland down one of the leg of it,each day i gained confidence in my finder and the catches went from 2 to my rod the first day to 12 to my rod the last day,but the best went to a friend of mine 13lb2oz's..not a bad fish i have had fish in this resevoir to 18lb 14oz on a silver swedish spoon...on the troll.
i was just wondering would u guy's fish anything specifically for big pike,what rig's would u use>?..the bigger fish are 25-35 feet down and it is to dangerous to use a downrigger as the water is low this time of year and u can hit shelves all over the lake..from 60 feet to 6 feet in a rod lenght!!!!!,it used to be a village in a valley until they flooded it,i have found three area's where there are huge pike but cannot get down to them..Any info would be greatly accepted...
Thanks again..

Denis.

R

Rob Brownfield

I am afraid that there is not too much u can do if the waters have such an uneven bottom. As u say, down riggers are not much use, but Dipsy Divers or similar planners will just hit the rocks and should not snag.

Also lures like Ernies with a very large front lip ride up over rocks etc....most of the time. The lip hits the rock, tilting the body upwards, so the hooks dont catch.I use 50 pound braid and replace the trebles with either singles or finer wired trebles, so, if it does snag, steady pressure will straighten the hooks.