hook link

chalky

Reaction score
aghhhh im pretty new to carp fishing , HELP . my hook link should it be mono flurocarben or braid and if it is braid whick kind will i buy [and a rough price please] thanks and tight lines colin.

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
Depends how you're fishing i.e pop up, bottom bait or maybe neutrally balanced?

Over gravel, weed or silt?

What's the water colour like?

What rig are you thinking of using?

Personally I have a selection of lines for hooklinks, monos, flouro and braids and keep a selection made up so when I reach the bank I can decide what's best.

chalky

Reaction score
thanks lads, ive tried the snowman , the helicopter rig leger rig pop ups although i think ive had them to far off the bottom, water conditions are good and clear [on one loch] the other is a bit dirty that one is about 40 foot deep in fact both of them are round about that depth ,also got tench / roach/ pike/perch. also done a lot of baiting up with barley /bird seed corn/ boilies / halibut pellets, i have no trouble pike/ or trout fishing but carp aghhhh its driving me nuts lol HELP. [BUT IM not GIVING UP....COLIN.

B

Bully

Loch?? Where are you fishing? If you are doing the above (ie lots of baiting up etc) I might question overall tactics first, before getting hung up about rigs.

Tell us more.

chalky

Reaction score
LOL yes youve got it im scottish, kinghorn loch in fife and a loch called the brickie near forth road bridge.[fife side] and also a little loch lol more like a puddle but its full of tench and carp it used to be a big reserviour but it was drained [its only about 1 acre] i joined the scottish carp group but due to bad health my membership ran out but i am going to re join .

chalky

Reaction score
i am now going to stick with the method feeder as its the one that has given me the best chance ,[lol just need to sit on my hands a bit more till i get a bite].

U

unknownforce