Introduction

bennygesserit

Reaction score
Hi I'm Benny

returned to fishing about 18 months ago after a gap of about 30 years, so I am still very much a beginner.

Mainly fish the canal and a couple of local pools but also visit commercials a few times a year with my favourite being Furnace Mill. Mainly fish with pole and whip but I'm starting to get into feeder fishing after my Kids bought me a feeder rod for my Birthday, not very accurate with the casting yet though.

I'm 49 and I work in IT as a network engineer , I am married with 3 kids , 2 lads 22 and 20 and a daughter of 17.

My biggest fish is a 9lb carp from Hamstell but my best fish would be a 4lb + perch from the local canal after a 27 hour blank ( not all in one go ) in the middle of winter, caught just off the reeds on a broken worm.

My other hobbies are swimming , gardening , walking the dog and occaisionally watching West Bromwich Albion.

bennygesserit

Reaction score
Welcome Benny, cracking perch mate

cheers mate , I wished I had a photo of its older brother I caught a few days later , I have been having a look round the site and I think its true there seem to be a lot of very decent perch being pulled out - there must be if I can catch one

Morespiders

Reaction score
cheers mate , I wished I had a photo of its older brother I caught a few days later , I have been having a look round the site and I think its true there seem to be a lot of very decent perch being pulled out - there must be if I can catch one

Hmmmm, how big was its older brother/ sister

bennygesserit

Reaction score
Hmmmm, how big was its older brother/ sister

I can only guess , I was kicking myself for not having my phone with me and I was very inexperienced at the time but I lay it on my mat and it was longer than the width of my landing net , with the ruff at the top being much longer than my fingers. I would guess at over 4 , except that it didn't seem to be very fat if you know what I mean.