Tackle dealers and newcomers to the sport

Waveney One

Reaction score
Am I alone in saying that it horrifies me what goes on in some of our tackle shops?

Recently I was in one of my local tackle shops when a chap came in making enquiries. Apparently, his young son (8) had shown an interest in going fishing. He was making his Dad's life hell with the pestering [:)]him to go fishing. I was earwigging I have to admit as I am a PAA coach and the shop has a stock of my business cards in the shop.

Anyway to cut a long story short, the guy had once seen someone catch a pike and had been impressed so he wanted gear for pike fishing. I couldn't believe it when the assistant started showing him, pike rods and big pits. I know he has a living to make but I felt I had to step in and make a point.

I asked if he or his son had ever fished before, No.

I asked the shop assistant what the cost of a 42" net and handle with an unhooking mat and a set of forceps and wire cutters would be. About ?80 was the reply, I think at his prices it was more. I told the prospective customer that was a minimum of additional gear he would need before he went fishing for pike. I asked what the price was of a small landing net, a spool of 3lb line and an elasticated whip, a few floats, a disgorger, shot and hooks would be. About the same he said, actually it was cheaper.