A knotting question

A

Andy Davis

Join braid & Fluro...braid in the main line, but I want to try and use a Flurocarbon leader

A

Andrew Thomas

Don't use braid mainline myself but use both braid and fluorocarbon as hooklengths. I've had no problem using a 5 turn grinner to a swivel....however, fluorocarbon does need to be well lubricated and tightened very carefully and slowly in my experience.

J

John Walker

hi andy, whats purpose of joining the 2 lines 7 for what species

A

Andy Davis

It's for carp...mostly...fluro will be a leader, it's not essential it's just something I wanted to try, I know I could join the two with a small rig ring, but i don't think that will pass thtough the rod eyes

D

Dave O'L

I may be wrong but I think I read that sea anglers who use braid use the double grinner?

S

Stuart Bullard

Andy, now I am no expert, but braid and fluro tied together sounds a "harsh" combination. It depeneds on your rod as well, but if you really want to try the two together I would have thought you need something in the set up that gives a bit of stretch, like a couple of feet of powergum link, otherwise you may risk bumping fish off. I would just use swivels, but I am sure someone like Rik, Barney et al would have a more enlightend view.

L

Lewis Murawski

just get the 2 together and use (4 or 6 turn water knot) and simply place a bit of superglue on the knot and you will have no problems, i am a match angler and sometimes use mono shock leaders when fishing at distance with braid mainlines, and this works fine, its just braid is not very good at tightening at knots.Another trick is to leave the tags over an inch long, this will make them less brittle (such as the hairs on a paint brush=shoter they are the stiffer they are), and this will enable the knot to pass freely through the rod ring with no trouble at all.

D

David Will