New to fishing, your help appreciated

Ryan Sandison

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm new to fishing and have purchased a fishing rod, reel, line, floats, hooks, spinners today.

Where can I find out what I should be doing with this? Perhaps someone here can help?

I need to know how to work the reel, there are lots of different things on there. Any advice would be great.

(excuse me for my ignorance)

alan

Reaction score
what stuff did you buy? type/make etc.
what sort of fishing are you planning on doing
and where are you plannig on fishing.

what area are you in? you might find some one local willing to help.

Ryan Sandison

Reaction score
I purchased:

'Ugly Stick' Gold Spin 1560.270 length 2.70m casting weight 25-60gms

A Ganza Rear Drag Reel

Omni-Flex line

Round Floats

and some hooks and spinners.

I would be trout fishing in a loch, in Shetland.

I need to know some basics like what I'm meant to do to set up and use the reel etc.

Thank you for your help

C

Chris Bishop

You're probably best-off using the spinners for trout.

I check what the rules are where you intend to fish RE permitted methods, the shop you bought your kit from should be able to help.

have you loaded the line on the reel yet or do you literally have all the stuff sitting there and you're wondering what to do with it..?

F

Fred Bonney

Just an out of interest enquiry Ryan,what made you decide to buy fishing tackle,and who advised you on your purchase?

Ryan Sandison

Reaction score
Quote: 'have you loaded the line on the reel yet or do you literally have all the stuff sitting there and you're wondering what to do with it..?'

This may sound silly but I'm probably still sitting there wondering, I will manage to do it though, with a little help from the experts of course. This is an idiot sounding question but do I need to fasten the line on the reel in some way before I start to wind on?