New to fishing - please help

Timothy Frost

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am very new to the fishing scene having only been once before with some fiends for a couple of hours in a chalk stream in Dorset. I now live in Kent and after changing jobs have a lot more time on my hands. I am keen to start fishing but am struggling to find out what kind of equipment I need.

I fancy float fishing for 'non carp species' but I am not having much luck in find suitable bits of water.
I would prefer to be able to fish in rivers/canals as a commercial fishery does seem very expensive.

I live in East Kent and have looked in Mid Kent Fisheries, but I wonder if anyone knows of any other places to fish that does not require a memebership until I decide how often I will be going.

Looking through magazines I have my eye on a Shimano Hyperloop Rod (what is better easier a 13 or 14 ft rod?) but I am a bit stuck as to which reel to go for. What is a Rear drag reel in comaprison to a Front drag reel?

What kind of floats should I go for? I have seen lots of mixed packs in adverts in IYCF and TCF.

What else would you consider vital/non vital?

I really only want to spend ?60ish and the test in IYCF recomended the 2 'kits' from Chapmans and NWAC but are these any good for river fishing?

These may seem stupid questions but any answers/advice would be greatfully recived.

Many Thanks
Tim :)

L

Les Clark

Tim ,where about in east kent are you living ,there are a few day ticket waters about .

P

paul williams 2

Tim, whatever you do stick to your plan of floatfishing for 'non carp species'.....at least for a season or two, carp can be great fun but there is so much more on the way up, it is a shame to miss it!