Feeding habits of Barbel.

Porse

Reaction score
Do barbel feed in the same shoal as chub? Or should I try to feed my way through the chub to the barbel?

I am new to barbel fishing, my local river was stocked with barbel 8 years ago but i have only heard of 5 being caught in the neighbouring canal up to about 8lbs. (baby ones i know!)

I promised myself that i would catch one here before i attempt the Great Ouse or similar rivers!

I have fished 4 times this year and have only caught 19 sizeable chub (not that i am moaning!) and 1 bonus bream.

I am using all the recommended methods that i have read on this website and other sources, magazines etc...

Are any of the following an option for me?

1. Larger baits?
2. More loose feed?
3. More patience?!

To be honest any additional help, advice hints and tips would be much appreciated.

Many thanks.

captain carrott

Reaction score
i used to fish the windrush where you could see the fish hiding under a tree on the far bank a few yards away, and both the chub and barbel would drift out from their place of safety then grab the bait and dart back to cover. it was basically a case of pot luck which one of the species picked it up.

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
You could try using a longer hair on your rig to help avoid Mr Chub. You'll still get knocks from them as they mouth the bait but they'll drop it without getting hooked (as often) leaving you able to wait for that screaming clutch Barbel run.

S

Sean Meeghan

Purse I'd go with what Paul says, plus I'd adopt a bait and wait policy. Bait up a swim then wait for at least and hour (go and fish somewhere else for a while). If there are a reasonable number of Barbel in the swim they will tend to push the Chub off the feed once they get their heads down. I'd also try the slower deeper stretches where there are fewer Chub at this time of year.

Richard Walker

Reaction score