RIVER FISHIN HELP!!

D

david jones

A

B

X

(FLOW OF RIVER FROM RIGHT TO LEFT)

I am a novice angler who has been fishing stillwaters up until the other day when I had my first session on a river (the Gt Ouse). I have read very little about fishing rivers and came up against some problems which I was hoping someone may be able to help out with (or suggest a source for help).

These problems will, I’m sure, sound like child’s play and maybe a little stupid to most experienced river anglers, but I am a novice so bear with me…

As per above diagram, I sat and fished (legering) at X. I cast to straight to A and expected to see the line enter the water at the position I’d cast the lead to (i.e. running straight from rod top). I had also assumed that the quiver tip would remain straight until I’d tightened up to the lead (as per stillwater quivertipping).

What actually happened was that the line appeared to enter the water at B on the diagram, even though I had cast straight across, and that the quiver tip bend round immediately to around 9cm from the straight rod. I tried a variety of weights up to 3oz and changed quiver tips to the biggest (rated 3oz) but the same situation occurred.

Also, even with the tip at this immediate 9cm bend, it was constantly in motion, back and forwards and the line was as taut as a cheesewire. (I had read that weed may make the tip move, but it was not a weedy stretch).

That’s the situation. I have assumed that either I am 1) doing something completely incorrect or that 2) this is normal procedure for river fishing. If it is the former, please someone put me on the correct path, if it is the latter, then I have the following questions.

1. Why does the line not run from rod tip straight to the lead, (I’m assuming something to do with the flow) and if a bow is forming from rod tip to line entry point and back to the lead, what implications does this have on bite detection, striking etc.?