Hook and Pellet Size

valleybrown

Reaction score
Hi everybody

Thanks for looking in. Newbie here, I'm not sure how many years I can get away with calling meself a newbie (!) but here goes....

I've never used a pellet on a river before, in fact if I'm honest, the pellet thing has passed me by. Until now, so it's all hand to the pellet pump!

I have a query about pellet and hook size.
I will be trotting on a river, very shallow (3'-4'), clear and very slow running. I intend to use 10/11mm soft hooker pellets directly on a size 12 hook feeding 6mm pellets. If I miss bites then I'll scale up to a Size 12 hook. Fish in the swim will be mainly chub and barbel with the odd "nuisance" trout.

Have I got the hook to pellet size balance correct?

If there's already a thread about this then please feel free to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Blackie

itsfishingnotcatching

Reaction score
I'm probably more of a "newbie" than you and have only just tried using soft hooker pellets and never on a river. On stillwater they can be a problem on a waggler as they seem to dislodge very easily on anything more than a gentle cast. I've only used 6mm on 12 & 14 hooks but think you may need to up the hooksize with 10mm pellets.

I would definately take a stock of back up baits that will stay on the hook longer.

Perhaps some of the more knowledgable posters will be able to help us both.

barbelboi

Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]I’ve never even thought of trotting pellets, soft or hard, on a river. IMO bread and the ‘natural’ baits do the business.[/FONT]

valleybrown

Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]I’ve never even thought of trotting pellets, soft or hard, on a river. IMO bread and the ‘natural’ baits do the business.[/FONT]