unhookable runs

agamemnon

Reaction score
hi guys im new to the forum but not to fishing, i have been fishing for over 30 years now and have tried my hand at pretty much every style and type of fishing going though my main love is pike and cat fishing.
this season i rejoined a local lake that holds carp and cats to over 40lbs, i last fished this water 20 years ago and i have been having some hastle as the lake has changed dramaticaly since i last fished.
the main problem i have had is the amount of silt in the lake (6-18" at least). to over come the silt problem my friend has been using the chod rig and i have been using a pateronster rig with the hook inline and the lead on a small light line leader with silicon tubing to overcome the problems with tangles in the silt. both of these rigs seem to be working well, or should i say both of these rigs come back in tangle free.
yesterday we arrived at the lake at 5am and fished over a large bed of pellets that we had put out the night before. within minutes i had my first run a single toner with liver on the hook, a couple of mins later i had a nice jack pike in the net. recast and 5 mins later another single toner i struck and didnt even feel the fish, this set the tone for the rest of the day, we both had countless bites and screaming runs yet never managed to connect with a single fish.
on 1 rod i had a snowman rig with 18mm boilies and about 1/2" gap between the hook and bait. i know my hook links work well as i connect with over 90% of runs on linear with identical hook links, yet i never conected with a single run. the same again with the 2 rods that had liver, i had hooked the liver and threaded the line and tied it to the hook to make sure it stayed on during the cast and remained in a position so the hook didnt foul up when i struck. i have fished liver the same way both in the uk and in france with good results and its rare to miss a screaming run.