great feeling

ingy

Reaction score
walking the dog every night by the river over the past month or so the elderberrys near the river have been hung there in there thousands, so me being me i thought grabing a handful everynight i would bait a swim or two up as i walked ,today i went down the river and thought tonights the night to try elderberrys , first trot down nowt, 2nd nowt , this went on for 10 or so trots down then the float disapeared and i struck into a nice feeling fish , as i drew it near the net in the folds of my net layed a beutiful scale perfect 1 lbs 12oz roach , what a fantastic feeling to catch on something new is great over the next 2 hours i caught approx 30, 40 roach ,dace , and small chub great few hours fishing and cheap to has anyone else caught some great fish on on unfancied baits

Paul H

Reaction score
Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
Good work Ingy, I'm not a pro float fisherman although I'm working on rectifying that So I've never tried the berrys myself. I did read an article once where (possibly Martin Bowler) used them and caught Roach, Chub etc... all day long.

ingy

Reaction score
top tip; too is if you can find the unripped red elderberrys they float they work a treat for chub anddace off the top

B

Bully

1lb 12oz roach? I'd fish all day to catch just one fish like that! Well done. And well planned....

Neneman Nick

Reaction score
i have used elderberries alot for roach fishing at my local boating lake.
tackle wise,i use a 5mtr whip instead of a rod and a suitable pole float etc... plus a wide gape,fine wire spade hook.
i gently impale the elderberry,taking care not to burst it and cast in.i then flick a few grains of hemp around my float and hey presto,the roach are normally straight on it.....they really cant get enough of it.
i have never tried it on a river though but as there are tons of elderberries about this year i may just give it a bash???

G

Grant Lever