sheephills farm river swale barbel fishing?

africandan

Reaction score
hi,
im still pretty new to fishing, done abit of tench and other course fishing last year and sea fishing this year, and been reading about barbel fishing and would like to try this aswell as the rest of it.

im from north east yorkshire way and would like to try somewhere close to start with where i have a decent chance of catching summet, size is not an issue right now just want to gain some experience.

anyway ive been pointed in the direction of sheephills farm on the river swale but read its membership only, and cant find a way to get in touch, can anyone help me out please, or advise me of somewhere mabye bit more convenient.

thanks

AD

904_cannon

Reaction score
Durham City, Co Durham ... STILL The Land of The P
They seem to be a secretive lot, africandan. I asked on here for info last year and was met with ear shattering silence. Sure to get some response now :) Too late now though for me as I'd struggle to access even the accessible swims.

I had some really great days at Sheephills over the last 35 years, but must stress I was NOT part of the crowd that caused the water to go down the syndicate road.

I have some good memories too, like when I dozed off and tumbled into the river whilst perched on the old tree trunk lodged in mid-river just upstream of the stakes, and my mate fishing the stakes all day wearing nothing but his Barbour jacket with hood up and a pair of waders (and underpants to save my blushes) due to the relentless sun.

Last edited:

Rickrod

Reaction score
Type ,sheephills syndicate vacancy into the serch engine there was a thread on here a few months ago maybe that can help you

africandan

Reaction score