Use of a rod pod

dezza

Reaction score
I remember years ago setting up for a spot of barbel fishing on the Trent. I erected my brolly with storm sides and was just fastening my rod pod together when a voice broke the still late summer afternoon air.

"Here for the duration are we?"

I turned and there in all his glory was a barbel policeman.

I'd never met one before and it seemed that he objected to the fact that I had erected a small shelter, was going to fish two rods and had a pod! It was no use explaining that the concept of the modern rod pod was invented by **** Walker, or that JW Martin the "Trent Otter" probably used something similar whan he was "fishing the plumb". No, according to him, I was a blaggard.

But I've been using a rod pod since 1989, which certainly did not recieve any objection in South Africa. Why must people object to them here?

Last edited:

Paul Morley

Reaction score
Associations with certain angling practises that draw scorn!! I use one when I have to - wooden boards; I suspect many become a slave to the damn things. I equally suspect Ron that the history is not common knowledge!

sam vimes

Reaction score
I love it to be honest. You can't beat annoying a narrow minded idiot just by virtue of using a pod and alarms. Why a pod should cause such annoyance is quite beyond me. The strange thing is that pods are considered "noddy" by many of the hard core carpers these day. The annoyance with alarms I can have some sympathy with but what they can't seem to grasp is that mine are set to silent in most situations. That just goes to prove it isn't necessarily the sound of alarms that annoys them, just the mere fact that someone has the temerity to use them.

I really don't care what others do, as long as it's safe and legal. I'd appreciate the same latitude from others. I don't object to the lighter approach even to the extreme of cane rods and centrepins. It isn't for me but good luck to them anyway.

Alan Tyler

Reaction score