Confused

jdaniels

Reaction score
Hello everyone I know this sounds very amateurish but I am new to the river fishing as I usually specimen fish. But my question is what is this baby fish ?? As I have caught hundreds and hundreds of them ?
Thankyou
Joe Daniels

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313672127.468612.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313672127.468612.jpg
    26.7 KB · Views: 47
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313672159.800552.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1313672159.800552.jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 49

jdaniels

Reaction score
Could be :) do you know any way of not catching them and bringing in the chub instead ?

Frank Elson

Reaction score
cheese chunks, luncheon meat chunks, large piece of bread flake (although the latter may attract the minnows as well to nibble the edges)
...and minnows can't get a size ten or eight hook in their gobs :)

barbelboi

Reaction score
Yes Danny, my first double - a 10.4 from Marlow Weir in the mid 70's. I believe Fred J caught many barbel trotting minnows in the Thames as a youngster.

dannytaylor

Reaction score
Thats a top catch. Ive read about barbel taking bullheads/minnows etc but had never heard of anyone actually getting a specimen on one. When the goings tough it could be worth ago for barbel that are otherwise being cagey and refusing more fashionable baits. I was watching a clip on you tube of a croatian angler targetting them with crankbait lures. Just shows you most fish are predatory given half the chance.

jdaniels

Reaction score
Good good now I know. There a pest. I'm currently fishing admirals park weir on the river chelmer, I'm usually a speci carp and predator fisherman but have recently decided to turn my hand to pleasure fishing.

barbelboi

Reaction score
We found minnow a good bait early season - good old large coffee jar with a small funnel in the shallows with some bread in - a non stop supply of minnows:)

jdaniels

Reaction score