Carp on float

sl1ced

Reaction score
Ok I'm a float man through and through, I don't do boils and bait alarms etc. Bit old fashioned for a 22 year old I know but I find it more fun.

So I'm at my local fishery, I use a Shakespeare match rod fishing away for silvers as I do whn I hooked into a 9lb carp, I say it left me wanting more. So I'm after advice on depths, floats, weight patterns baits etc for carp on the float.

Any advic taken as I'm a carp newb

Dan

dezza

Reaction score
I caught over 60 carp to nearly 20 lbs this year on the float, most of them not in this country.

I would suggest a powerful float fishing rod, something like a 13 foot Drennan Tench Float which is OK for lines to 10lb. Above that I would use a 2lb TC standard 12 foot carp rod.

Standard Drennan 3 AAA crystal waggler floats should be fine, weighted with an olivette. if possible. Locate the float using leger stops, shots tend to weaken the line.

As I caught most of my carp this year on sweetcorn and bread flake, this is what I would tend to use, although boilies and pellets, hair rigged are probably better in most UK waters.

In waters with plenty of room a 10 lb line and an 8 lb fluorocarbon hooklength would be my choice, although in snaggy water with fish to over 30 lbs, I would step the mainline up to 15 lbs with a 12 lb hook length. Hook sizes, 12 to 6 depending on the bait you are using.

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Sliced hello .
if you landed the 9lb carp on the tackle you describe why try to
change anything? Just up your feeding they are greedy fish...

little oik

Reaction score