2lb Roach

Steve Spiller

Reaction score
Hi guys, I need your help.

After talking to a certain FM member who shall remain anonymous, I have decided my angling future will take a huge change. I've been fishing now for 34 years and I feel I have missed out on a lot that it has to offer.

So, I have set myself a challenge to catch a 2lb roach before the end of the season from my local Bristol Avon. I don't want anyone to name venues or give swims away, I just want to know how you would approach this challenge on a river i.e. bait and tactics.

My first obvious choice will be to use bread flake in conjunction with liquidised bread. I intend to bait several swims and fish them all at some point throughout the day, then settle into one swim and fish it into darkness for a couple of hours.

I would be very interested to know what you would look for in a swim that would indicate to you that it held large roach? Visual sightings of the roach would be almost impossible, the Avon is deep and slow, so it is a case of me learning to read a swim and look for features that might hold the roach.

Cheers guys, I would be very grateful for any advice you can offer me.

Steve.

E

ED (The ORIGINAL and REAL one)

"I have set myself a challenge to catch a 2lb roach before the end of the season from my local Bristol Avon."

If only it was that easy .........

Some people go a lifetime without catching one ....

Steve Spiller

Reaction score
I know Ed and that is why it's time I pull me finger out and get on with it!

I work 6am-2pm and 2pm-10pm, so I get a fair bit of time on my hands, it's time for me to put it to good use. The Avon holds the roach, I've just never targetted them, but that is about to change.

Beecy

Reaction score
you can tip the odds of a 2lb Roach in your favour by..

forgeting how to tell the difference between a Roach and a Chub

setting your scales to weight 8oz heavier

Beecy

Reaction score