new to sea fishing

James Robinson

Reaction score
hello guys im new to fishing and i really struggling to catch fish. i was just wondering if you could help me.
thanks

scrupes

Reaction score
Hi james, You'll need to be a bit more specific M8, where do you fish? what you fishin or aiming to catch? what tackle and rigs you using?.
let us know and I'll try and help.

James Robinson

Reaction score
well i normally fish anywhere from redcar up2 whitby. i dont mind wot i catch as im only a beginner. i use squid,mussle,mackrel,razors, and is it rag and lug worms. i normally use wot ever rigs my m8s got made up.

scrupes

Reaction score
Well then mate I fish the other side of the tees to you, round the Hartlepool to Seaham areas. Have you tried the south gare at redcar? Its prob best fished when the weather is ok though as it gets rough out there! best times are between 2hrs prior to the high tide and 2 1/2 hrs after.
The best thing you can do is to get yourself a tide table from your local tackle shop and ask the staff for the latest regarding catches, i have been led to belive there are codling and whiting off shore awaiting a big tide! that will bring the fish closer in to the shore looking for food.

as far as baits go you doing fine but sometimes its the presentation that counts, dont use too big a hook or if using a bigger bait (like a makeral flapper or 3-4 lugworm in a row) use 2 hooks about 2-3" apart.

Do your mates catch any fish? if it works for them and not for you then I'm stumped!

One more point to consider is casting, it pays to practice.. you using a fixed spool reel i take it?