new to this

ian_l

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm relatively new to predator fishing and i love it. Ever since I got my first perch on a spinner, followed closely by a lovely pike I have been hooked. The thrill of the fish taking the sinner is amazing. I have a relatively light set up and mainly use spinners of about 10-15g but would like to get some shads.
Ok so my question is what size shads would you guys recommend to attract some relatively decent sized pike without compromising the smaller perch. Or should I just forget about the smaller ones and target the slightly bigger ones?

Thanks Ian.

luremanmike

Reaction score
I would try some Flying c's and some curly tail shads no bigger than 4 inch, you would be surprised at what perch can get in its mouth mate or what they will try and eat....

ian_l

Reaction score
Thanks most helpful. I'll be getting some very soon me thinks.

Thanks ian.

mscustomlures

Reaction score
Try this link from earlier this month:

http://www.fishingmagic.com/forums/predator-fishing/247363-jig-heads-bodies.html

Flying Cs are a good lure, although often I've bought them and they don't work properly - the blade seems to cling to the long body and doesn't rotate freely aroung the axis of the lure.

A little tip on spinners, if you find they don't spin properly bend the bottom of the blade outwards with pliers and the water displacement normally gets them spinning

bigsean

Reaction score
good tip, i have a double blade spinner that barely spins .... dont use it very often, except on 1 water that is full of tiny jacks, but still good advice mate :)

keora

Reaction score
The Friendly Fisherman in Kent sells by email packs combining soft plastic shads and suitably sized jig heads:

LURE PACKS & KITS