Camera advice needed...

E

EC

I am a total layman in photography.

I would like something with a decent enough lens that will do pics to a decent(magazine?) standard.

Must be easy to use and take the knocks, damp and muck that all come with going fishing with minimal maintenance.

Self timer and/or remote, good battery life and/or ability to take rechargeables.

As small and compact as possible.

Does such a beast exist and how much will I pay?

Go!

captain carrott

Reaction score
have a look at the fuji finepix S ones about the size of a normal SLR and good quality pics.
plus you can get add on lenses and fit filters to em. unlike the normal point and click cannon jobbies that ron likes.

They basically lie between the DSLR and the compact. in both price and functionality.

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

The best compact camera I have ever used is the Canon G6. They have replaced this with the Canon G7 which although it has 10 mp, does not have the features of the G6.

These days I own a Nikon D80 DSLR.

captain carrott

Reaction score
about 700 quid less and those you add the lense onto the front of the existing lense rather than changing it completely so theres less chance of getting your camera full of bank.

they also weigh about a stone and a half less than a DSLR

C

Cakey

you need to look again CC my 400D was ?450 and is very very light !

E

EC

I dont want to use the word but they seem cheap, financially speaking!

So those 2 fuji's you mention Jase have a fixed lens, one that can also be added to but not removed, and yet still give the same quality as a dslr?

Why do people bother with a more expensive dslr then? (Not trying to be pedantic or a smart arse).

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA)

The DSLR (digital single lens reflex) has a number of major advantages over the compact camera. First of all you can put on a whole variey of lenses on it. The DSLR is fat better for creative photography.