Camera Confusion

bigchub

Reaction score
Looks I may well be in the need of new camera soon. I just can't the results that seem pleasing to me with an old Acer CE-5330 Digital Camera, 5MP, 3 x Optical Zoom etc - [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-CE-5330-Digital-Camera-Optical/dp/B000ADKTMQ"]Acer CE-5330 Digital Camera: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31Y5Y6DNHWL.@@AMEPARAM@@31Y5Y6DNHWL[/ame] and need higher quality pictures.

It also has to be digital.

I'll be mostly using the camera for trophy shots and close up work. I'd ideally like to take shots where the background is out of focus but the foreground is pin sharp so that the angler and fish stand out. My other use of it will be for close up shots for rigs and stuff like that.

I'm a complete camera novice so would like somethign that suits these needs and all I'm used to doing is pointing and shooting.

I don't have a budget in mind but the lower the possible would be ideal.

A lot to ask I know but I'm hoping someone can help me decide.

P.S. It also has to be as small as possible as I like to travel light and don't want something that takes up too much room in my bag.

soffit

Reaction score
Get something whose 'macro' feature is applauded as this is a very important feature in close work. My Nikon is 8yrs old and only 4mb but it focuses down to a cm from the subject.

chav professor

Reaction score
I would recomend a Nikon - I use a D60 SLR and it produces superb pics. I shoot on automatic for 90% of my pictures so is good for starters. It cost £320 around 3 years ago. A second hand one would be a very sound investment.

as I mostly do self takes, there are disadvantages. I would like a live screen that flipped around to help framing - but now got so used to working with the limitations it doesn't matter.