Boillies........

Neneman Nick

Reaction score
This one has probably been asked before and indeed answered many a time but here goes anyway.... When choosing a boillie for carp fishing (or indeed any species that readily get caught on boillies) why do some big fish anglers prefer frozen over off the shelf???
Do frozen baits taste better??? can they be continually re-frozen and thawed??? I can see why a bag of off the shelf baits is so convenient but what are the pros and cons i should be considering when choosing between these two???

Paul B

Reaction score
I'm no expert on bait but arguments i've seen in the past have pointed towards frozen bait as being of a higher food value and better for long campaigns than shelf life. Shelf life baits need some kind of preservative and (other than possibly sugar)i'm not aware of one with any nutritional value; shelf life are often "high attract" type (higher flavour levels) which arguably will "blow" quicker than a lower flavour higher food value frozen boilie.
Another argument i've read is that shelf life bait can take so long to break down that they can start to rot and pollute the water, whereas frozen bait breaks down quickly and gasses up, floats and gets picked up by birds and other beasties.

You shouldn't re-freeze boilies once thawed but air drying any left-overs is easy enough and gives near shelf life convenience.

I'm sure the experts will disagree with/re-educate me on some of that!

dadondo

Reaction score
hi matty you shouldn`t re-freeze boilies as most are made with egg as a binder therefore you are adding more bacteria each time you re-freeze and thaw the boilies.The freezing process is the preserver and this stops the boilies going off .

F

Frothey

bacteria's a good thing - why spend time adding amino's and enzymes when the bacteria do it for free....

E

EC

I remember an article by Rod Hutchinson I think it was who talked about the effectiveness of his bait going up when it was mouldy!