Chub spawning ?

F

Fred Bonney

Fished the Trent overnight, and found that the chub have recentlyt returned to feed.After being somewhat thin on the ground since start day.

Some of the bigger fish I caught, were hollow and their anal vent was somewhat distended.I also had the smallest of my catch,about 3lb,shed milt down my boot.

Any signs of late spawning on your rivers?

P

Paul (Brummie) Williams

I was catching chub on the Lugg and Wye a couple of weeks back and they looked and felt spawned out.

Incedendly, has anyone noticed their chub are getting bigger?.......they certainly seem to be on mine.

F

Fred Bonney

Yes bigger, but not heavier???

By that, I mean, they look like they should be heavier.

Matty C

Reaction score
I dunno if it was just luck of the draw.. but Ive been fishing a chub swim on my river for a few years, the biggest firstly went to 4lb dead that I had. a season later, there were a good number over 4lb, to 4lb 15, and on the first day of this season, two 5lb'ers came out.. new fish to the swim I dont know.. could be the same fish, but bigger..

P

Paul (Brummie) Williams

Strange you should say that Fred.....i was talking to someone else about exactly the same thing.

The stretch of Wye that runs past my caravan def has heavier chub now than 3yrs ago.......to 5.10 this year.

But we were also saying that some of them "looked" heavier than they were.

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
Yes Paul your are right about the Wye chub, I landed a chub that looked all of 5lb plus both under the rod tip and in the net last year above Ross, I weighed it and it turned out to be 3lb 12oz, I couldn't believe it but scales don't lie.

captain carrott

Reaction score
but surely you aren't suggesting that fish are spawning outside the closed season fred for that would make a closed season pointless wouldn't it.

;)

E

Evan

I would hazard a guess that infestation with Crays = Bigger Chub.