pike fishing

themyth

Reaction score
h guys,im new to pike fishing,done a bit of lure fishing with out many problems.
but yesterday i went dead baiting and had a few dramas,was freelining with a fox trace with 2 size 6 barbed trebbles and useing small mackeral for bait,1 st take i counted to 10 then struck but the pike came off a few seconds after striking.
2nd take i left it for 15 seconds but essox came adrift soon after striking again.
an hour later and i get my 3rd take,this time i gave it 10 mins before striking,i landed a nice clean mid double,but struggled to un-hook it, the hooks were well down in its gut so i just cut through the trace and let it go.
now im off piking tomorrow and don't really want to keep wasting my traces as there not cheap,but on the flipside i don't want to lose any fish.
so how long should i leave the take before striking?

Derek Gibson

Reaction score
If I were you I'd check the PAC website for info on terminal rigs, and bite indicators.
I don't want to sound too critical mate, but your approach seems all wrong. Leaving runs for ten minutes is a no, no however you stack it, that's why it was so difficult to unhook. You're gonna kill 'em with your approach. And please don't freeline baits.

mark brailsford 2

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Where have you got the idea that you have to wait before striking? I am dismayed that you waited 10 mins before striking and then having to cut the trace and let the poor fish go, AND you are going to do it again tomorrow!!!
Pike are really delicate fish and to let the fish swallow the trace is just irresponsible...IT WILL die eventually I assure you!
Please don't go piking untill you have consulted the predator area and asked for advise, I have not much experience with dead baiting so I can't really advise you much on the method.

Please don't think I am having ago and patronising you, but you ARE going to get some stick on here about your thread so brace yourself!

Mark