Daft questions.....

Neneman Nick

Reaction score
Hello all.....i am just starting to purchase various fly fishing items of tackle,with the intention of having a go for a few trout and catching the odd coarse fish as well.

Now being a total novice etc.... can someone tell me how do i attatch the fly line to the backing and how do i attatch the fly leader to the main fly line (no laughing please!!!)

many thanks.

Neneman Nick

Reaction score
Forgot to mention,that some funny loop type thingy`s that look as if they`ve been spliced???and some clear,thin silicon tubing came in the box with the fly line....am i supposed to use these???

For the record,the line is ron thompson brand.

Will have to investigate that knot paraman....i`ve never used leadcore in my life!!!

Trisantona

Reaction score
Yeah use the braided loops,they go through rings better than a nail knot not sure on fastening them onbut i bet Ron Clay will put you right or just ask a fly angler to show you.

Neneman Nick

Reaction score
Just found a site with various knotts for fly lines etc....the constriction knott for attatching the backing to main line looks easy enough.

I have also just fathomed out that those spliced things are leeder loops.From what i can make out,you glue oneover the end of the fly and i presume the silicone slides over the join for protection???

Trisantona

Reaction score
From memory ,you carefully thread end of fly line inside braid,tie backing to loop using uni knot then slide silicon sleeve over top,glue is only for added security (i think),you need to slide silicon on leader or backing first of course.you can use at both ends of fly line, try it dry and if no good send for the cavalry (ron).!!!

Steve Spiller

Reaction score
Depends if you're using a shooting head Nick?

The constriction knot sounds familiar......................where's Ron?

Have you noticed that the Daddy long legs are here?

Janet (AT)

Reaction score
I hope this helps. It certainly helped me.