Making your own boilies

R

Richard Trenberth

I'm interested in making my own boilies, could anyone recommend what equipment I would need, and what is the best way of making them, i.e. a sort of cook book for boilies.

cheers

Richard

P

Paul Williams

Richard,
IMHO the best recommendation is to use one of the vast array of proven fish catchers on sale in mix form and make your own from there........some of todays baits are superb.

L

Len Foster

I been making mine for the last few months and have had some nice results!
My latest menu is...

(Base Mix)
Semolina
Brown Rice Flour
SMA Gold [yes, the baby milk powder!]
Maize Meal
Trill birdseed
Ground Coffee Beans

Also used "orange" food dye for colouring!

(Flavourings)
Milky Toffee
A touch of Pinapple
2/3 drops of Butyric Acid [this absolutely stinks, be very careful!!!]

I'm no expert on making boilies, but the above recipe caught me 2 nice Carp yesterday...both were mirrors 1 @ 16lb 3oz and 1 @ 18lb 7oz

Len

J

Jon Moores

The key to boilie making is getting the kit really organised in advance. A mate and myself produced large quantities some years ago. I’m sure you could improve on our arrangements, but to give you a start:

We made an improvised table in my garage from an old door. A big rolling table was screwed to a piece of mdf and attached to the table with hinges so it could be raised to roll the baits off it.

Several trays for before and after boiling were made from some scrap wood and chicken wire. These were about 3’ by 2’ and had little folding legs.

The table had hooks for attaching the trays so that when the rolling table was raised on its hinges the baits rolled down onto the tray.

Large quantities of dry ingredients were mixed by 2/3 filling a plastic dustbin, securing the lid very tightly with carpet tape and rolling it up and down the drive.