Pre-Baiting a New Water

Sapper 069

Reaction score
Hy Guys ,i havejust received my DecemberTotal carp Mag and came across an article about pre-baiting a water over the winter months ready for the start of the season.

Being a beginner, I have two questions ,

1. Can you just wonder into a water a start pre-baiting ?

2. Whats your thoughts on pre-baiting ready for the new season ?

B

BAZ (Angel of the North)

Hello Sapper.

There are a few schools of thought on pre-baiting. But it would be more helpfull to us if we knew how big the water was.

In answer to your first question, that depends on if their is a closed season on this water, and if their is, do the owners allow pre-baiting during the closed season?

Sapper 069

Reaction score
Cheers for that lads , its not that i thought of it , its just that as a beginner you tend to read everything thats about.

The lake i have started fishing ,only been twice, is only 4 1/2 acres and is well stocked with fish to 34lb (they net it every year and can tell you almost to the fish how many and what size) i have been informed that it is well over fished through the summer months (20 swims in total).

It is owned by a family and they close it down on the 1 dec until the 1 mar , but i just couldnt see them letting tom , **** and cakey walking around the place feeding god knows what through there close season.

But from what you are saying that some places do!!!!!

F

Frothey

wouldnt bother, they will be on the munch in march (normally) - just make sure you stick to the same bait for a season or two....

C

Cakey

if you are allowed to loose feed then you have to do some work to find out what works best.

i.e. hemp or pellets or sweetcorn or boilies etc or a mixture or all

C

Cakey

but I'm the same as Frothey a tight git and don't bother no more and it hasn't affected my catch rate

Sapper 069

Reaction score